The Cure - A Site Just Like Heaven

Search site
Band members
Rate my site
Email me

Three Imaginary Boys information

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket


Professional reviews

All Music Guide Image Hosted by

Pitchfork Media (8.7/10)

Three Imaginary Boys is The Cure's debut album. It was later re-released in the U.S. with a slightly different song lineup from Boys Don't Cry.
Released: June, 1979 (UK)
           29 November 2004 (Deluxe Edition)
Recorded: Autumn, 1978
Genre: Post-punk
Length: 33:44
Label: Fiction Records
Producer(s): Chris Parry
An interesting fact about this album is that it contains the only Cure song that is not sung by Smith. The Jimi Hendrix song, "Foxy Lady" which is covered on this album, is actually sung by Michael Dempsey, the bass player at the time. The track, a soundcheck, was not supposed to be on the album and was removed for the American release. The record company decided which songs were put on the album, as well as the cover artwork, without Robert Smith's consent. For all Cure albums since, Smith has ensured he is given complete creative control over the final product before it goes on sale.
The album was reissued on November 29, 2004 in the UK (December 7 in the U.S.), and featured a second disc of unrelased material, including songs recorded under the band name "Easy Cure" with Porl Thompson. Since it features a variety of old songs, it is the only Deluxe Edition by the band which does not feature an alternate version of all the songs on the first disc. Some of the early booklets in the reissue had the lyrics missing, they were made available on The Cure's website in pdf form. All copies since have the lyrics.

The first single, "Killing an Arab", because of the controversial nature (see the article) was excluded from the re-issue.

It was originally supposed to be released in early 2004 along with Seventeen Seconds, Faith, and Pornography but was delayed multiple times and was finally released by itself at the end of 2004.

There also exists a one-CD reissue. It was released on September 5, 2005 in the UK and March 28, 2006 in the US. The CD features the original album, but does not contain the bonus disc. It is also released in the standard jewel case, and not a box. In some countries, the "Deluxe Edition" has become a collector's item and the production has phased out, being replaced by the more economic one-CD version.


Songs composed by Michael Dempsey / Robert Smith / Lol Tolhurst, except where noted.

Original 1979 release

  1. "10:15 Saturday Night"
  2. "Accuracy"
  3. "Grinding Halt"
  4. "Another Day"
  5. "Object"
  6. "Subway Song"
  7. "Foxy Lady" (Hendrix)
  8. "Meathook"
  9. "So What"
  10. "Fire in Cairo"
  11. "It's Not You"
  12. "Three Imaginary Boys"

The album carried an uncredited, final instrumental track informally called "The Weedy Burton". The fact was not acknowledged until the Deluxe re-issue.

2004 Deluxe Edition

Disc one

Original album, as above

     (including "The Weedy Burton" as track 13)

Disc two: Rarities 1977-1979

  1. "I Want to Be Old" (SAV studio demo 10/77 - previously unreleased song)
  2. "I'm Cold" (SAV studio demo 11/77)
  3. "Heroin Face" (live in The Rocket, Crawley 12/77 - previously available on Curiosity)
  4. "I Just Need Myself" (PSL studio demo 1/78 - previously unreleased song)
  5. "10:15 Saturday Night" (Robert Smith home demo 2/78)
  6. "The Cocktail Party" (group home demo 3/78 - previously unreleased song)
  7. "Grinding Halt" (group home demo 4/78)
  8. "Boys Don't Cry" (Chestnut studio demo 5/78 - previously available on Curiosity)
  9. "It's Not You" (Chestnut studio demo 5/78)
  10. "10:15 Saturday Night" (Chestnut studio demo 5/78)
  11. "Fire in Cairo" (Chestnut studio demo 5/78)
  12. "Winter" ('TIB' studio out-take 10/78 - previously unreleased song)
  13. "Faded Smiles" (aka "I Don't Know") ('TIB' studio out-take 10/78 - previously unreleased song)
  14. "Play with Me" ('TIB' studio out-take 10/78 - previously unreleased song)
  15. "World War" (on early copies of Boys Don't Cry)
  16. "Boys Don't Cry" (also on Boys Don't Cry)
  17. "Jumping Someone Else's Train" (also on Boys Don't Cry)
  18. "Subway Song" (live in Nottingham 10/79 - previously available on Curiosity)
  19. "Accuracy" (live in Nottingham 10/79)
  20. "10:15 Saturday Night" (live in Nottingham 10/79)


  • Michael Dempsey - Bass, Vocals
  • Robert Smith - Guitar, Vocals
  • Lol Tolhurst - Drums
  • Porl Thompson - Guitar where noted (*)
  • David Dragon - Illustrations
  • Michael J. Dutton - Assistant
  • Martyn Goddard - Photography
  • Mike Hedges - Engineer
  • Connie Jude - Illustrations
  • Chris Parry - Producer
  • B. Smith - Photography
  • Bill Smith - Design

Recorded and mixed at Morgan Studios, London, England.

The Cure chronology
      Three             Seventeen
Imaginary Boys         Seconds
     (1979)             (1980)